Teniola Returns Unopposed As Atcon’s President


L-R: Atcon President Mr.Olusola Teniola, 1st VP Engr. Ikechukwu Nnamani and  2nd vice president Mr. Muyiwa Ogunboye.

Teniola Returns Unopposed As Atcon President
By Josh Babatunde

The chief executive officer (CEO), Internet Solutions, Mr Olusola Teniola has returned unopposed for a second term in office as president of Association of Telecommunications Companies of Nigeria(ATCON) at the just concluded  National executive Council election (NEC) that held recently in Lagos.

Teniola insert

Teniola, in his acceptance speech noted that his coming back signifies more work and more lobbying to intensify telecoms is well represented at every nook and cranny of the country. While also ensuring that the association’s bar is raised to the highest pinnacle as well as chart new roadmap.
He further stated that the newly elected NEC members would work assiduously to digitilise the secretariat as well as erect a befitting secretariat for the association.
Prior to the election, the candidates for Atcon’s first Vice President were Dr. Anthony Nwosu of Global Access Technology, Engr. Ikechukwu Nnamani of Medallion Communications, and Mr. Ibrahim Dikko .
Meanwhile Dr. Anthony Nwosu stepped down from the Vice presidential race due to personal reasons best known to him.
It took a while for the electoral election committee to count and finalize eligible votes for the remaining two candidates.  Which has 47 eligible members company, 18 were absent while  29 casted the vote twice with one invalid vote for Nwosu who stepped down from the race.
Thereafter the counting of votes by the Electoral committee, Engr. Ikechukwu Nnamani has 39 votes while Mr. Ibrahim dikko has 18 votes making Nnamani Atcon’s first VP. he Nnamani noted that three important things are germane to him and the association which are development of new programmes, sensitization and awareness programme. As well as guaranteed sustainable revenue for the association.
Also Mr. Muyiwa Ogunboye of eStream Networks emerged as Atcon’s second Vice President unopposed because Mr. David Roberts had left the race for him to emerge as the second Vice President.